Action Alert! Support SB0196/HB0421 – Modernize State IDs

Every Marylander deserves identity documents that show who they are!

Show your support for state ID modernization by reaching out to committee members in the Senate and House.  Their contact information is below.  If helpful, a sample script is available at the bottom of this post.

SB0196 and HB0421 would modernize state ID laws to utilize self-attestation of gender and add an unspecified gender marker. A driver’s license with the incorrect gender “outs” a transgender person in any situation where they need to show their license, such as travelling, applying for jobs or schools, entering any public establishments that require ID, or obtaining any other benefits that require proof of identity. Driver’s licenses that do not match a transgender person’s lived gender can expose them to a variety of negative outcomes, such as unnecessary scrutiny by law enforcement, denial of housing, employment, health or public benefits, and verbal harassment or physical violence. Read more about the issue here.

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee // SB 192

Member Email Address Phone Number
Robert A. Zirkin (Chair) bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3131 or 301-858-3131
William C. Smith, Jr. (Vice-Chair) will.smith@senate.state.md.us 301-858-3634 or 410-841-3634
Jill P. Carter jill.carter@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3697 or 301-858-3697
Robert G. Cassilly bob.cassilly@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3158 or 301-858-3158
Katie Fry Hester katie.hester@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3671 or 301-858-3671
Michael J. Hough michael.hough@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3704 or 301-858-3704
Susan C. Lee susan.lee@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3124 or 301-858-3124
Justin D. Ready justin.ready@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3683 or 301-858-3683
Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher jeffrey.waldstreicher@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3137 or 301-858-3137
Mary L. Washington mary.washington@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3145 or 301-858-3145
Christopher R. West chris.west@senate.state.md.us 410-841-3648 or 301-858-3648

Environment and Transportation Committee // HB421

Member Email Address Phone Number
Kumar Barve (Chair) kumar.barve@house.state.md.us 410-841-3990 | 301-858-3990
Dana Stein (Vice-Chair) dana.stein@house.state.md.us 410-841-3527 | 301-858-3527
Dalya Attar dalya.attar@house.state.md.us 410-841-3268 | 301-858-3268
Regina T. Boyce regina.boyce@house.state.md.us 410-841-3476 | 301-858-3476
Tony Bridges tony.bridges@house.state.md.us 410-841-3283 | 301-858-3283
Andrew P. Cassilly Andrew.Cassilly@house.state.md.us 301-858-3444 | 410-841-3444
Barrie S. Ciliberti barrie.ciliberti@house.state.md.us 410-841-3080 | 301-858-3080
Gerald W. Clark jerry.clark@house.state.md.us 410-841-3314 | 301-858-3314
David Fraser-Hidalgo david.fraser.hidalgo@house.state.md.us 410-841-3186 | 301-858-3186
James W. Gilchrist jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us 410-841-3744 | 301-858-3744
Andrea Fletcher Harrison andreafletcher.harrison@house.state.md.us 410-841-3919 | 301-858-3919
Anne Healey anne.healey@house.state.md.us 410-841-3961 | 301-858-3961
Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us 410-841-3310 | 301-858-3310
Jay A. Jacobs jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us 410-841-3449
Jay Jalisi jay.jalisi@house.state.md.us 410-841-3358 | 301-858-3358
Stephen W. Lafferty stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us 410-841-3487 | 301-858-3487
Mary A. Lehman mary.lehman@house.state.md.us 410-841-3114 | 410-858-3114
Sara N. Love sara.love@house.state.md.us 410-841-3454 | 301-858-3454
Charles J. Otto charles.otto@house.state.md.us 410-621-0200
Neil C. Parrott neil.parrott@house.state.md.us 240-329-0293
Vaughn M. Stewart III vaughn.stewart@house.state.md.us 410-841-3528 | 301-858-3528
Melissa Wells melissa.wells@house.state.md.us 410-841-3545 | 301-858-3545
William J. Wivell william.wivell@house.state.md.us 410-841-3447 | 301-858-3447

Sample script:

My name is _____________ and I live in ___________. I am calling/emailing in support of SB196/HB421. An undesignated gender marker allows for more accuracy for people who are not represented by “M” or “F,” and gives a privacy option for anyone who does not want to disclose their gender. Furthermore, self-attestation of gender removes a barrier to accuracy for many individuals. Please support SB196/HB421.

Facebooktwitterreddittumblrmail